Thursday, April 20, 2017

WHAT ! no guitars It must be Van Canto

Band members
Dennis "Sly" Schunke – lead vocals (2006–present)
Inga Scharf –  lead vocals (2006–present)
Ross Thompson – higher guitar vocals (2006–present)
Stefan Schmidt – lower guitar vocals, solo guitar vocals, vocals with distortion effects (2006–present)
Bastian Emig – drums (2007–present)
Jan Moritz – bass vocals (2015–present)

Previous Canto's
Ingo "Ike" Sterzinger – bass vocals (2006–2015)
Dennis Strillinger – drums (2006–2007)

G'day, Howzitgoing?, Now I reckon I like a fair bit of metal, you know Heavy, Glam, Power, Classic...but then the other day I found a new "genre" and you wont believe this ...Acapella Metal , yep zero guitars and keyboards...although they do have a drummer , oh, the name of this vastly talented group of metallers is 

Van Canto are a German acappella metal band, begun  in 2006 and composed of five singers and a drummer. ....the "band" lean towards probably my favourite kind of metal, that being power and symphonic , performing  what they call "hero metal a cappella", although  they also do a cracking version of The Final Countdown

Dennis and Inga perform the lead vocals, the other guys  use their voices to imitate the guitars and the bass, with the help of amplifiers, and some of Ross Thompsons lead breaks are absolutely phenomenal

As soon as the band was founded, its debut album, A Storm to Come, was released through General Schallplatten. It features seven original tracks, as well as cover versions of Metallica's "Battery" and "Stora Rövardansen" from the movie Ronja Rövardotter. Additionally, videos were shot for the tracks "The Mission", "Battery", and "Rain".

 On 30 September 2007, they announced a new drummer, Bastian Emig, who replaced Dennis Strillinger's position in the band. In December 2007, Van Canto signed a worldwide record deal with Gun Records/Sony BMG. Then the band were announced as part of the line up of the Wacken 2008 festival.The band also announced that their second album, titled "Hero", was in the progress of being recorded. Hero ended up being released on 26 September 2008, with producer Charlie Bauerfeind.

In late 2009, Van Canto was recorded  their third studio album in Twilight Hall Studios, with Bauerfeind and via Napalm Records.  It was released worldwide in early 2010, which coincided with the worldwide release of their previous two albums. 

The album was announced at Nuclear Blast official website as Tribe of Force. The track listing features 13 tracks, two of them being covers ("Master of Puppets" by Metallica and "Rebellion" by Grave Digger), and three of them featuring guest artists: Victor Smolski (from Rage) guest appears in "One to Ten", Tony Kakko (from Sonata Arctica) guest appears on "Hearted" and Chris Boltendahl (from Grave Digger) guest appears in "Rebellion".

Van Canto performed guest vocals on albums by bands Blind Guardian and Grave Digger (At the Edge of Time and untitled, respectively). They also appeared on the Tarja Turunen album What Lies Beneath (on the track "Anteroom of Death")

On 21 September 2010 it was announced that they had teamed up with the MMORPG Runes of Magic to create a music video based around the game for and with the game.
On 17 February 2011, it was announced on the official Van Canto website that the band was entering the studio and suspending touring until June in order to create a new album....which turned out to be  Break the Silence and it was released on 22 September 2011

Their fifth album, Dawn of the Brave, was released in February 2014.  It contains 9 own compositions and 4 covers  "Paranoid" by Black Sabbath, "The Final Countdown" by Europe, "Holding out for a Hero" by Bonnie Tyler, and "Into the West" by Annie Lennox from the soundtrack for the motion picture The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King.

In November 2015, the band announced Ingo "Ike" Sterzinger would leave them to follow other projects, and that he would be replaced by Jan Moritz, from the Stimmgewalt choir.
On 11 March 2016, the band released their sixth album, the metal opera Voices of Fire. On January 18, they released a lyric video for the first track from the album, "Clashings on Armour Plates".

On 18 February 2016, they released the official music video for the "The Bardcall"...and here it is 

Storm to Come (2006)
Hero (2008)
Tribe of Force (2010)
Break the Silence (2011)
Dawn of the Brave (2014)
Voices of Fire (2016)

SO...there you go , hope you get amongst it and grab some stuff from them


No comments:

Post a Comment