Sunday, October 25, 2015

5SoS...Aussie Punk Power Pop is in good hands

Firstly to all those who read my blogaroos..DONT PANIC...I aint stopped rocking out to 
Lemmy, Quo, Blackberry Smoke, Avantasia and Toby Keith....BUT talent is talent and chops are chops and young Aussie power pop/punkish band 5 Seconds of Summer are pretty fkn impressive ...and I dont impress easy !....As a matter of fact I think its safe to say that Aussie rock/power pop is in pretty good hands cause these lads can get it done .....SO, here is their tale of arrival and subsequent attack of the chicky babes....

5 Seconds of Summer began in 2011 when Luke Hemmings, Michael Clifford and Calum Hood, who all attended Norwest Christian College, started posting videos of themselves performing covers of popular songs together on Hemmings' YouTube channel. Hemmings' first video, a cover of Mike Posner's "Please Don't Go", was posted on 3 February 2011. Their cover of Chris Brown's "Next to You" received over 600,000 hits  In December 2011, they were joined by drummer Ashton Irwin, and the four-man line up was completed.

The band attracted some major interest from big time music labels and publishers, and signed a publishing deal with Sony ATV Music Publishing.  


Despite having had no promotion apart from on Facebook and Twitter, their first music release, an EP entitled Unplugged, reached number 3 on the iTunes chart in Australia  and the Top 20 in both New Zealand and overseas. Their international following increased significantly once again when One Direction member Louis Tomlinson posted the link to their YouTube video of their song "Gotta Get Out", stating that he'd been a fan of 5 Seconds of Summer "for a while". 5 Seconds of Summer were once again the subject of interest for One Direction following the release of their first single, "Out of My Limit", on 19 November 2012, this time with Niall Horan tweeting the link to the video clip.

sHes KinDa Hot

5 Seconds of Summer spent the second half of 2012 writing and developing their sound with Christian Lo Russo and Joel Chapman of Australian band Amy Meredith, with whom they wrote two of the songs that feature on the Somewhere New EP: "Beside You" and "Unpredictable". The EP was also co-produced by Joel Chapman.

 5 Seconds of Summer released their first single "Out of My Limit" on 19 November 2012, with the video clip for the song receiving over 100,000 views within the first 24 hours. In December 2012, the boys embarked on a songwriting trip to London, where they wrote with various artists including McFly, Roy Stride of Scouting for Girls, Nick Hodgson of Kaiser Chiefs, Jamie Scott, Jake Gosling, Steve Robson and James Bourne of Busted.

On 14 February 2013, it was announced that 5 Seconds of Summer would support One Direction on their worldwide Take Me Home Tour. The tour kicked off at the O2 Arena in London on 23 February 2013, and 5 Seconds of Summer joined One Direction for shows in the UK, US, Australia and New Zealand, including seven shows at Allphones Arena in 5 Seconds of Summer's home town of Sydney.  

Whilst on a break from the Take Me Home Tour, 5 Seconds of Summer returned home to Australia where they played a National headlining tour, with all dates selling out within minutes. It was around this time when the band began to gain popularity and become more well-known. On 21 November 2013, the band announced that they had signed to Capitol Records.

Members of the band have said the group is not a boy band.  Unlike many boy bands, they write their own songs, play their own instruments, and they are 99 % NOT a dance group. Nevertheless, the band has attracted a fanatical following of chicky babes.
Ashton Irwin has compared the band's female following to Fall Out Boy which also has a sizable female fanbase. John Feldmann, frontman of Goldfinger and producer on 5 Seconds of Summer, attributes 5 Seconds of Summer's fan base to "a fundamental change in the pop punk demographic

On 13 May 2014, the band announced that their debut self-titled album, would be released on 27 June 2014 in Europe and Australia with other releases coming later. The album won a Kerrang! award; Luke Hemmings said it was a real honour to win one, as all the band's idols are in Kerrang!. The album impressively debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard Chart and peaked at No. 1 in 13 countries as well as the Top 10 in 26 countries.


On 15 July 2014, the band released their third single, "Amnesia", which was the only song not written by the band members themselves, but by Benji and Joel Madden of Good Charlotte, the American pop punk band. Billboard said of the track, 'With a surprisingly affecting vocal performance and the most searing lyrics on the album, new single "Amnesia" establishes itself as 5 Seconds of Summer's successful Serious Pose.  "Amnesia" demonstrates the versatility of 5SOS, cant figure out why its buried at the bottom of the album

On 12 October 2014, the band released their fourth single, "Good Girls", and the music video logged over two millions views within 48 hours, making it their highest debut to date. The band released a cover song "What I Like About You" by American rock band The Romantics as the first single from their live album LIVESOS.....which was released on 15 December 2014.

ADAM WILKINSON  - the boys first manager
 In April 2011, Wilkinson met the as yet unsigned Sydney band 5 Seconds of Summer while they were visiting Studios 301. Wilkinson recognised potential in the young band, and endeavoured to contact them, doing so via Facebook.  In February 2012, Wilkinson set up his own band management company, AWM Management.  

sHeS KinDa Hot

He did a co-management deal with Matt Emsell from UK based Wonder Management  and under Wilkinson's and Emsell's management, 5 Seconds of Summer grew in popularity, amassing over 1000,000 fans across social media networks. Wilkinson worked to secure the support slots for the Australian leg of Hot Chelle Rae's Whatever world tour  as well as One Direction's Take Me Home Tour Wilkinson was involved in the signing of 5 Seconds of Summer to EMI and Capital Records in the USA....In late 2013, Wilkinson turned over direct management of 5SOS to Emsell. 5SOS was subsequently signed to Modest Management out of London – the same management group for One Direction

The bOYs cOver of The Romantics Hit

In May 2015, the band embarked their first headlining tour "Rock Out With Your Socks Out Tour" of Europe, Australia, New Zealand and North America. On 17 July 2015, 5 Seconds of Summer released the first single "She's Kinda Hot" .....On 12 August 2015, the band announced that their second studio album is called Sounds Good Feels Good. It was released worldwide on 23 October 2015. On 28 August 2015, the band released She's Kinda Hot EP in UK and Ireland only.  On 9 October 2015 the band released Hey Everybody! as the second single from the album.

On the Hi or Hey Records website, the band explained that not only would they be releasing all of their music through Hi Or Hey Records in conjunction with Capitol Records, but they would also be signing a roster of their own bands and releasing them via the label.

gOoD gIrLs

Band members

Luke Hemmings  – lead vocals, rhythm guitar
Michael Clifford  – guitar, vocals
Calum Hood  – bass guitar, vocals
Ashton Irwin  – drums, vocals


5 Seconds of Summer (2014)
LIVESOS (2014)
Sounds Good Feels Good (2015)

Extended plays
She Looks So Perfect , Don't Stop,  Amnesia,  She's Kinda Hot

"She Looks So Perfect" "Don't Stop" "Amnesia" "Good Girls" "What I Like About You" "She's Kinda Hot" "Hey Everybody!"

SO...there you go,, the 5SoS story, hope you dug it..... Loud fkn rock shall resume shortly

No comments:

Post a Comment